65 years and still kickin’

She adores hats, but refused to wear a triangle party hat.

Yesterday my mum’s birthday. We held her birthday bash in my sister’s restaurant. I have made a cake with yellow and creamy orange roses (she loves yellow roses, that’s why). My hand is aching because I have to mould and color the marzipan by hand. That’s right, I don’t have equipment for that, because I don’t decorate cakes a lot. So at the end of the day I could not see another marzipan rose anymore.

I have to admit, it may not be the worlds most beautiful cake, but I made it with love and patience. And the cake was yummee: everyone liked it.

yup, two cakes with lots of roses.

The yellow rice – made and decorated by my aunt, is a tradition. The birthday girl need to cut the top of the rice and give it to the eldest guest, out of respect.

And what is an Indian birthday party without food? My mum's pride and joy.

And what is an Indian birthday party without food? My mum’s pride and joy.

Give-away

And ofcourse the give-away, spekkoek, my mums’ speciality

After the party, all the guests received my mum’s speciality as a give-away: spekkoek. Spekkoek is a Dutch-Indonesian layered cake and contains spices such as  cinnamon, anice, clove and mace. It is a labour-intensive cake, so it’s only made and served during special occasions. But that’s another story.

Leave a Reply

